At the end of the match the boss criticised those "typical Germans" got Rafael sent off and we would never have lost the game with 11 men. The latter I agree with wholeheartedly. With our full complement of players, Bayern never even got a look in and were nervy all over the pitch. As we've come to expect from Sir Alex, our gameplan from the start was superb - we had Rooney, Nani, Valencia and Gibbo pushing up from midfield harassing a suspect back four, while Fletcher had van Bommel in his pocket. Rafael and Evra made Robben and Ribery virtually non-existant and we played some sublime football. Bayern were never in it and were never going to be in it when we had 11 men.
And then Rafael got sent off.
This is where I disagree with Sir Alex.I can understand some people saying it was a bit harsh but I think we have enough experience to know that European referees are much stricter than the ones in the Premier League.The fact is this -Ribery turned Rafael, and was clearly away. Tugging him back is not an attempt to play the ball and is therefore cynical and unsporting behaviour. Consequently, it is a yellow card offence. It just so happens he had picked up a cheap yellow card in the opposing wing in the first half for his naive retaliation and 2 yellows equals 1 red.
I think it's irrelevant whether it looked like the referee was about to let Rafael off the hook before the Bayern players surrounded him. We will never know what the ref was thinking at the time, and I think in this case we have to trust that the referee would not be unduly influenced by a pack of players, even if he did have the bulldog spittle of van Bommel spraying in his face. I suspect that the boss doesn't really dispute the sending off as well, and he's just saying that to try and protect Rafael a bit. I can't imagine what it feels like to be him right now - his sending off essentially caused us to lose a game which would seem to have been the reason we surrendered the league initiative to Chelsea at the weekend. Keep in mind that he is only 19, a little young, a little naive, and to make such a huge error of judgement on such a massive stage that is the Champions League would shatter anyone's confidence to bits. Let's hope Gary Neville or Rio or Giggsy or Scholesy puts an arm around him in training tomorrow and get him back to where he was mentally. There is no doubting his potential, let's not forget he did a great job against Ribery (a job I honestly didn't think he was capable of doing at this stage) before he got sent off. Unlike some, I hope he quickly learns from it, moves past it and goes on to be the player we all know he can be.
However, in spite of the loss I think we can say that there were many more positives for us than negatives. Let's look at the big picture people, we might have lost the CL his year, but there is still a CL next year and the year after next. Not sure about the 2012/2013 season seeing as the world will end and all. We had our kids out there today and they played a great game. The decision to start Gibson turned out to be a stroke of managerial genius. I think Gibbo enjoys the position he played in this game a bit further up the pitch rather than his usual role. He was constantly pushing up harrying van Buyten into mistakes and was a real problem for the center backs who weren't sure whether to come out and close him down or ease off and let him hit a shot. I know many who don't see Gibson as a long-term United player, but this game could turn out to be a landmark game for him where he pushes on and becomes our next Scholes. Watch this space.
And then we come to Nani. Oh glorious Nani. This isn't the same player we had 12 months ago. Everything he said in the off-season, about how much he loves United and now understands what it means to be a Red Devil seemed convenient lip service to try and convince Ferguson to give him some playing time. And so it was compounded when he had a pretty average start to the season and fans couldn't wait for the transfer window to open so we could at least recoup some money from the Indian Ronaldo. "Failure!" we cried. "Prima donna!" some shouted. And then Arsenal happened and it all changed.
Put simply, Nani was our best player on the night and showed why many thought he would be the next Ronaldo. Excellent on the ball, searing pace, intelligent runs, Rooney-esque commitment to getting back and most importantly for Nani great decision-making. It seems the boy has finally turned a corner and he's reaping the benefits of a newfound commitment to the shirt. Even when he was chucked up front alone he was great closing down defenders, chasing lost causes and almost sealed the tie for us if not for a good save from their goalkeeper. He was the one player that got the fans excited after Rooney went off and it's great to see him finally starting to live up to his potential.
It's really a shame that we're out. No one doubts that we were by far and away the better side over the two legs and some bad luck and sloppy defending cost us. The effort some of the lads put in - Valencia, Evra, Rio and Fletcher - really deserved more. Just briefl touching on the Rooney starting subject. It was a gamble, it did have some effect on the match in that it galvanised the players and created more space for Valencia and Nani to operate but I think he should have come off at half time. Granted he only played 10 minutes of the second half, but he was clearly struggling after rolling the ankle again, but I don't belive it's too serious and while he may miss Blackburn he should be back for the remainder of the games.
On the whole we can take a lot of positives from the game with regard to our younger players and the way the team played. Yes we were unlucky, but I think it's also a good learning experience for them and being United players, they will bounce back and be better for it. And as for the Champions League, Barcelona are going to win it easily now. We were the only team that would have caused them some trouble in the final.